The Most Commonly Asked Questions About DUI From Our Clients
When you are charged with DUI, many questions may come to mind about the legal process. Fear and uncertainty of what’s to come can make action difficult after an arrest, but we are here to help.
The Law Office of J. Patrick Henry is led by a former law enforcement officer who now works as an attorney. We understand how the state will approach your DUI charges. Our intimate knowledge of how law enforcement and the state of Tennessee operate can provide you with a detail-oriented and personal criminal defense.
We Understand Both Sides Of DUI
When you meet with our law firm in Kingston, we will address your most pressing questions and then show you how the law can work in your favor. No two cases are alike, but we will work within the system to get you the best result possible for your situation.
People come to us with many concerns, and they may be similar to yours. Here are some frequently asked questions about drunk driving charges.
How Much Does A DUI Conviction Cost?
In Tennessee, a DUI conviction can result in up to a $1,500 fine. You may need to pay for additional fees to reinstate your driver’s license. Your insurance premiums may also go up.
Will I Have To Go To Jail For A DUI?
Tennessee has mandatory jail time of at least 48 hours even for first-time DUI offenders, and you may face longer sentences for repeat offenses. It is important to call a lawyer immediately after being arrested to have the best chance of reducing your time spent in jail.
How Can I Fight The Charges?
Arresting and charging someone with DUI requires a specific process by law enforcement and the court. The details matter in your case. Our lawyer will examine every step the state takes and use its mistakes to your advantage.
What Are My Rights?
You have the right to an attorney who will help you tell your story. My unique experience as a law enforcement officer can be valuable to your defense. Don’t hesitate to contact us about your case today.